A SonyEricsson Christmas

Posted: 06/11/2007 in Vox blog
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A great perk of my job at Nokia is obviously getting cool Nokia devices to use / play with (currently the proud owner of a Nokia E90). But being a gadget lover also means I’m interested in other companies’ devices as well. I’ve previously owned Samsungs and Motorolas, as well as played with some other brands. But for some reason, I’ve never had a chance to use a SonyEricsson. Well, as luck will have it, I found a way to get my hands on not one, but three SE devices next month, for a week each. I believe one of them is a Symbian device too. It’ll be interesting to use non-Nokia phones for a while… I’m still debating whether I should stop using my E90 completely during that time, i.e. use the SE phones as my primary (and only) device. It’ll be tough… I’ll be really lost without my E90, but we’ll see.

Here are the devices that I’ll be getting, in order:

  1. SonyEricsson M600i
  2. SonyEricsson W880i
  3. SonyEricsson K800i

I’m sure there are lots of reviews on these phones already, but mine will be a story about a Nokia user thrown into an SE world. I’m starting with the Symbian-based M600i to ease the transition a little bit. If there’s anything specific you’d like me to find out about any of the devices, please let me know. Otherwise I won’t be doing any thorough reviews, but just using them for daily tasks that I might use my E90 (and other Nokias) for.

December adventures in Finland with 3 SE phones. Stay tuned.

Comments
  1. R2 says:

    I tried the W880i for an hour and I had enough of it, I promised myself to stick with Nokia devices..
    Can I have your E90 while you play with SE? :)

  2. cybette says:

    haha, why did i have a feeling that i'll get requests for my E90? :) i think we can work something out…. (week1 -> R2)

  3. R2 says:

    I read this at the right moment it seems. :)

  4. Glad you are back to your old Vox!
    BTW, how's your E90's built quality? (back cover, especially)

  5. adonisdemon says:

    3 New phones!! OMG!!! Jealous!!

  6. cybette says:

    @adonisdemon well, i don't get to keep them, although it's cool to have a chance to play with them!@horia the build quality of my E90 is great! i think it's the latest batch where they fixed all the hw problems. back cover is solid although i don't have much reasons to open/remove it constantly.

  7. Betty Ortiz says:

    @carol–how long will you have with each of the phones!! wow…you won't have them when you're in london?? :-0

  8. cybette says:

    @betty i'll have them for only a week each, and in December, so unfortunately they won't be with me on the london trip :( but the E90 will! :)

  9. xmangerm says:

    My wife has a SE 550i in white and it really does a great job. The battery life is very long and takes good pictures also.

  10. Bringiton says:

    [das ist gut]

  11. M600i mini-review?:-)

  12. snoyt says:

    See if you can test drive the SE GPS solution: HGE-100. I'd love a shootout between the Nokia GPS and SE GPS. Noone has done a real review. Rumour is it seems to work only with Wayfinder and unreliable at that. Nav4All (free) and commercial satnav software seem to supports the N95 quite well, but the HGE-100? Even SE does not seem to make a big splash about it.

Leave a comment