06-06-06

Posted: 06/06/2006 in Live Spaces
Dooms day. Armageddon. The Omen. Ahhhhh…..
 
Well, the reason I wailed is not because of any of the above. I’ve been sick for the last 3 days and just felt like screaming, but my throat hurts so bad so I have to do it virtually.
 
I’m looking forward to 07-07-07 next year, since se7en is my favorite number. 666 is boring. Yawn.
 
Speaking of the devil, I’ve had it up to here with Cingular. Ok, it’s not fair to associate Cingular with evil… or maybe it is? Anyway, all their claims about "fewest dropped calls". Yeah, right, because you can’t establish the calls in the first place! "More bars in more places"? Hmm, I can’t seem to find those places… So they are upgrading their cell towers for UMTS (3G) coverage… that’s a good thing, but if that’s going to affect the current GSM services, they’re gonna start losing their 2G customers. Oh wait, that won’t happen, because most of us are ball-and-chained into lenghty contracts with them!
 
Let’s say this is just a temporary thing and signal strength will improve soon. They still need to do something about their buggy billing system. I’ve only been with them for a few months, but I had to call them almost every time I get a bill to fix something. And I’m not nickle-and-diming, really, we’re talking hundreds of dollars here (total). Sure, they were good about reversing the charges, but why all the mistakes in the first place? So that the customer service people have something to do? If it didn’t involve wasting my time and getting me frustrated, it’ll have been fine. Now I hesitate to add my sister to the family plan because I don’t want to go through the same headaches I had to deal with when I added Alice.
 
When I changed from individual plan to family plan, I was told that I’ll lose my rollover minutes. While I wasn’t too thrilled with that, I could accept it and just had to remind Bruce and Alice to watch their usage for a while. Thus when I got my last bill, I was surprised to see that we had a balance of 2000+ rollovers. Huh??? What the…. how messed up is this? I know I shouldn’t be complaining about having the extra minutes. But why not just give them to me when I initially changed plans, so we didn’t have to deal with the pro-rated charges and exceeding the pro-rated minutes and all that jazz? It’ll be nice if they don’t yo-yo us between feast and famine this way.
 
Ok, I’ll have to say there are some redeeming qualities in Cingular. They have more coverage domestically as well as roaming coverage internationally compared to T-mobile, at least based on my experiences. This is important to me as I travel quite a bit. And the fact that they’re GSM-based gives them a huge advantage over Sprint and Verizon, even though I really like Sprint’s Fair & Flexible plans, and Verizon’s reputable network. Oh well, we can’t have it all…

Leave a comment